Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: The black wall and a tree with history

Real Name
    Chang

The black wall and a tree with history

These are remembrances left at the black wall in Auschwitz, where prisoners were executed by gun.

Shot of a tree I liked, located in the jewish cemetery in Oswiecim. This is my first panorama and I didn't follow any tutorial (I'm experienced with PS).

I'm still a beginner so any tips are appreciated a huge lot!

Real Name
    2 penny for the guess..

Re: The black wall and a tree with history

Chang,
    With all my respects, first picture I don't get it, no matter how much I try.
    I do "like" the second one, with the wide angle lens ( I''m fan of it), but god forgive me, I do not see where is the history. I do believet hat "history" might be in the "lower" part of the three, from focus point of view (F16-F22 like)

hope it helps,
    Leo

With the first one, Chang, I wonder if cropping tighter on the right side and ending up with just three lamps and an image ratio of around 5 x 4 might have more impact.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

With both these images, Chang, you have sought to tell a very moving story.

For me the thing that is missing is context. If you had not told us that the first picture was the Death Wall in Auschwitz 1, people, apart from maybe those who have been there, could not have guessed that this was the location. Similarly, we cannot tell that the second image is taken in one of the cemeteries.

So, the point I am making is - When we take a photograph, we are at the scene. We are experiencing the emotion that goes with location and the moment (I have been in the places that you have photographed and can testify to the overwhelming emotional experience). But the challenge facing us as photographers is then to convey that in a picture.