Mitch Ward

Re: Please comment, I need help...

And a Portrait...

Please comment, I need help...

Real Name
    Mario

Hello Mitch!.

First, let me note than I'm an apprentice like you. Probably I couldn't make a great photograph of this model in these scenes or any other for that matter.

Having said this, I think a change in lighting could have greatly improved these shots.

In the first picture, in my opinion, the hash illumination of the hat and the bright spot on shes shorts don't goes well with the overall illumination and feel of the picture. The shadow due to flash is somewhat detracting as well. Maybe a reflector could have been better than the flash. I'm always hesitant of using the onboard flash in my bridge camera. I await the day I have a real flash with a diffuser (Umbrella); if you have have one, use it.

Diffuse lighting is safe; I.e: it's difficult to make a flawed shoot with diffuse lighting. It definitely has a place in portraiture. However, we should also learn to take advantage of more hash lighting; that's currently something I don't shine at. I can't make suggestion as to how this picture could have been improved leaning towards this other option in lighting.

In the second picture it seems like she had a specific pose and probably a specific picture in mind, shes right hand was in shes thigh or knee and shes left hand was in the object she was standing in. And it seems like you ignored this. The tilt and the arms look odd in the framing you choose. This pose should be framed for full body and context in my opinion. The color balance seems too cold.

The odd framing notwithstanding I think a nice head portrait can be extracted. Here is my try. Please let me know what you think, especially with white balance. See the RawTherapee profile too.

Please comment, I need help...