Thread: my 1st post of a few photos advice welcome

Real Name
    glenn

my 1st post of a few photos advice welcome

hi guys took me a while to work out how to post my photos.
    here are a few from about 400 taken this morning
    would love advice on improving ,although i am quite happy with them all i have done is trim them down to how i think they should look.
    my best friend jackmy 1st post of a few photos advice welcomejpg[/IMG]my 1st post of a few photos advice welcome

ps i am a beginner and am trying to keep away from full auto mode ,these are straight from the camera apart from trimming them down in my camera software.
    many thanks .glenn

Real Name
    Terry

Re: my 1st post of a few photos advice welcome

Looks like your getting the hang of it, Glenn.

Might I be allowed one more suggestion please?

If, in the future, you will take Mr. Jack and post him in the "People and Pets" category in a new thread, I think it would be a better place for people to find him and comment on your photos.

Now that you're getting it, Glenn, let 'er rip!

Just a couple of thoughts, Glenn.

With bright light on one side of your dog and deep shadow on the other you are bound to suffer a bit of exposure problems. Which gives the dog something of a 'split personality'.

But from that angle there wasn't any other option; and possibly another angle wasn't available.

Secondly, a shutter speed of 1/200 on #1 is a bit on the slow side for a running animal. I would have preferred something around 1/500. So this appears to have caused a little motion softness. This would have increased the ISO but I would sooner risk a little bit of background 'noise' to get the main subject sharp.

And don't worry about having uploading problems; that is something which many of use suffered initially.

Real Name
    glenn

Quote Originally Posted by Geoff F View Post
    Just a couple of thoughts, Glenn.