Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Hard drive and photo backup questions

Hard drive and photo backup questions

Hello,

I just started shooting in RAW and now I am realizing how fast my harddrive is filling up. So I need a new internal harddrive for my PC. Since I don't have internet at home, I have to take my MacBook and loiter at some hotel to get online. The harddrive on the MacBook is pretty much full as well, so I have to kind of guess what pictures etc. I will need when I'm online. So, my plan is to get an external harddrive as well.
    At the moment I backup my pictures on DVD, but I know out of first hand experience that they don't last forever. So, why not get another external harddrive for backups?

I am wondering now, if I should really save for 2 externals or just get one and use it as a backup and MacBook harddrive at the same time. I have never owned an external harddrive and am not sure how fragile they are. I usually carry my laptop around with me in my backpack, together with books and food and all the junk that accumulates in there. The size of the harddrive doesn't really matter, but are laptop harddrives better protected then desktop harddrives?

I usually use Western Digital or Seagate drives. Now I have read here and at some other sites that Seagate had some problems with their newer drives. Has that been fixed? Is it safe again to buy Seagate?

And finally, does anybody have any experience with backup software? I am looking for something that would backup only certain folders and/or partitions.

Kirk
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 14th June 2009 at 12:22 AM.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Harddrive and Backup questions.

Hi Kirk,