Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Manchester Street Portrait first try...

Real Name
    Paul

Manchester Street Portrait first try...

This is my First try at street portraits any advice on how to improve my street portraits will be welcome... this is taken using a Tamron 70-300 lens on a Nikon D7000

luco-warmers-.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Donald; 12th February 2012 at 01:31 PM. Reason: Image posted inline

Real Name
    Andrew

Re: Manchester Street Portrait first try...

Hi there, welcome to CiC! I think you've done a pretty good job at capturing a 'Street Portrait', however the focus is so incredibly off it's hard to discern any detail from either of the gentlemen. Maybe start to work on making sure the eyes of the subject(s) are in perfect focus, and I think you'll be well on your way!

Real Name
    Andrew

I would also aim to cut down on the empty frame above their heads and add some of it to either side of them.

Real Name
    Paul

May i just say thank-you for the welcome Andrew76
    I agree that the focus is way off but in my defence it was my first try at 'street portraits' with my new 70-300 tamron lens or any other time and i was pretty nervous of taking this shot for these reasons i will try harder next time. But i was just wondering how others go about taking shots like this and also what is best to look for?

Thank-you once again for the advice from you both.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi "salemshot",

Andrew and, oh, Andrew have covered a couple of suggestions, which I endorse.

You may well want to look at significantly increasing your shutter speed too, this shows signs of double image, probably caused by camera shake (at 300mm), but possibly subject movement could be a factor.

Don't be afraid to raise the iso to 800, 1600, or more, if it is really noisy, you can always do a B&W conversion where such 'grain' is considered "arty"