Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Would like some help with my lense

Would like some help with my lense

I have upgraded my camera to the Canon T3i, and along with it I ordered the 55-250mm lense. My problem is that I don't believe I am using this lense to it's full ability. I take a fair amount of photographs of the birds and other wildlife were I live, but am unable to zoom as close as I'd like to (the lense has a lot farther to go to get to 250). Could someone please tell me what I am doing wrong? I've searched and searched, and cannot find an answer to this, so I'm hoping someone can educate me.

Sorry if this questions sounds like it is coming from a newbie, but I understand how to use the camera just fine, only having trouble with learning how to use the lense, which I've never used before.

Thank you in advance for any help that you can give!

Real Name
    Mathieu

Re: Would like some help with my lense

I'm not quite sure to understand your problem. You zoom and unzoom the lense and when at 250mm (On the zoom ring) it's not as close as you'd like it?

Maybe 250mm is not enough for your need. Maybe you need a higher focal length.

When I take the focus manually up to 250 for a closeup of a subject, it is blurry (guess I should have mentioned that in my initial post).

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Quote Originally Posted by srooney View Post
    When I take the focus manually up to 250 for a closeup of a subject, it is blurry (guess I should have mentioned that in my initial post).
    Hi Mathieu,

Is the Image Stabilisation switched on?
    Have you got Auto-focus switched on and working properly?
    Do you see it attempt to focus?
    What shutter speed are you using? (should be at least 1/320s)

Please post an example image.

Cheers,

Real Name
    Tommy