Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lens Focal Length and frame size - beginner a bit confused

Real Name
    John

Lens Focal Length and frame size - beginner a bit confused

Hi everyone, this forum has been such a help already.

I'm a beginner with maybe a silly question... but here goes. I understand that if you have a full frame camera with lets say a 70mm lens gives me the same field of view as a 70mm lens with a 35mm camera.

If I put the same lens on a small frame camera, it gives a "magnified" field of view equivalent to say roughly a 83mm (depending on the sensor size) lens on a 35mm camera? Is this correct?

And if I have an canon EF-S 70mm lens which is designed for a small frame camera on an actual small frame camera, am I still getting the equivalent 83mm field of view that I would with 35mm?

Thanks for your help. I'm still trying to grasp some of these concepts.

Real Name
    Andrew

Re: Lens Focal Length and frame size - beginner a bit confused

Incorrect, although I can understand your confusion because some do explain it that way. With a full frame lens on either format camera nothing is magnified more than on the other. It's still the same lens so the lens projects the same image no matter what camera it's on. The difference is with how much of the image is registered on the sensor. It's not "magnified" it's restricted. Look up "Digital Camera Sensor Sizes" in the CIC tutorials. The smaller the sensor the less it can "see" of what the lens passes through. When you blow up the photo to the same size it appears larger but what you really have is just less of the scene and therefore a tighter field of view. Try not to think of it as magnified but rather, cropped. I will try to find and post a really good diagram I had that explains it quite simply.

Lenses built for smaller size sensors would to some extent not provide a full circle of view on a larger sensor. Some amount of vignetting would occur.