Thread: New member query - Color Cast with D3000

Real Name
    Jim

New member query - Color Cast with D3000

I'm a retired professor who enjoys photography, especially of vacation travel. I've had fantastic luck with Kodak's higher-end digital cameras and thought as I retired I would step it up a bit. I bought a Nikon D3000 and 2 lenses. My main problem is that I have been, to be kind, somewhat underwhelmed with the color renditions of this camera. The pictures seem to have a color cast leaning toward tan or brown and they don't seem as "alive" as my Kodak shots. I was wondering if anyone else has had this experience or can suggest a solution to my problem. Thanks
    Last edited by Donald; 3rd January 2012 at 09:44 PM.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: New member query - Color Cast with D3000

Jim - As advised in the New Member intro thread, I have moved this message in here.

Members - Anyone able to make suggestions to Jim on this one?

Real Name
    Philip

Welcome, Jim - I don't have that camera but I suspect that somewhere in its menu system you will find options to change the appearance of the images. For example, one Web review site lists these parameters in the D3000 -
    • Picture controls: Standard, Neutral, Vivid, Monochrome, Portrait, Landscape
    • Quick Adjust: 5 settings (adjusts Sharpening, Contrast and Saturation by preset amounts)
    • Sharpening: Auto, 10 levels
    • Contrast: Auto, 7 levels
    • Saturation: Auto, 7 levels
    • Hue: 7 levels
    Hopefully, a member who owns one of these cameras will give you a more helpful reply.

Philip

Real Name
    Richard

Often a person transitioning from P&S cameras to DSLR cameras feels underwhelmed at the quality the new camera/lens is achieving.