Thread: Wedding photography

Wedding photography

I was just curious what is a good go to lens for church weddings? I have a Nikon D7000 and usually do mainly outdoor photography but have been asked to do a wedding and want to make sure I am properly equipped. I am new to weddings and am learning so any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Wedding photography

Quote Originally Posted by kbohanan View Post
    I was just curious what is a good go to lens for church weddings? I have a Nikon D7000 and usually do mainly outdoor photography but have been asked to do a wedding and want to make sure I am properly equipped. I am new to weddings and am learning so any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
    If you click on 'Discussion Categories' in the menu bar above you'll see a category entitled 'Weddings'. Click on that and you'll find lots and lots of views and comments about taking on doing weddings. And if you decide to do it, some helpful advice about what you need to think about.

Real Name
    Scott Benz

I just bought the Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G and found it to be a really nice lens for less than $250US. It is pretty good in low light which you may well need. There are a ton of variables here. I would certanly consider getting a good speedlight. There are some on flash diffusers and soft boxes that work fairly well in the absence of a more robust lighting set up.

Like Donald mentioned... Read, read, research and then read some more. There is plenty of info out there and with some good prep you'll be just fine.
    Last edited by epmi314; 29th December 2011 at 02:29 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Donald View Post