Thread: Ports O Call Harbor and Marina

Real Name
    Joe Hollingsworth

Ports O Call Harbor and Marina

This is my second attempt,
    after being advised to redo my initial inquirey for C&C, due my inital images were too large. Please disregard any earlier request.
    I am a new photographer and this is my first time for submitting such a request. I would like to get feedback as to if the images are too dark and the composition. I shoot with a Nikon D7000 w/18-135mm lens.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Real Name
    Mark

Re: Ports O Call Harbor and Marina

Joe, I like the images but 2, 3 & 4 seem to me to be over cooked. What have you done in post processing?

Yes, as Mark said, we really need to see something straight from the camera, and some information about shooting settings, including any auto adjustment within the camera during shooting.

In all of your shots you are getting close to over exposing the highlights while the midtones and shadow are a bit too dark. What software do you use and roughly what is your current method of processing.

In some ways these look like they have had a bit of Auto Adjustment which rarely achieves the best possible results.

Your basic composition looks quite good.

Real Name
    Joe Hollingsworth

Mark, thanks for your response. I never expected a reply so quickly. I'm not sure what the term over cooked means but I suspect you may be referring to the darkness of the images, which is why I wanted input from others. These were edited in Photoshop Raw editing prorgram. I wanted to more dramatize the clouds and other colors so I reduced the exposure slider and increased the black sliderto get more details from the clouds and other colors. If I'm not correct with my assumption about over cooked, please let me know. Thanks again.

Real Name
    John

Hi Joe,