Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: My Nephew. C&C welcomed...

Real Name
    Scott Benz

My Nephew. C&C welcomed...

Well eventually you have to start taking pictures of people. Here are a couple of shots of the coolest little lad I know.

Let me know what you think.

Real Name
    Brian

Re: My Nephew. C&C welcomed...

Hi Scott,
    I am a beginner in portrait photos myself
    What kind of software are you using for PP?
    The first one I like. A couple small things I might try to tweak if this was my photo - the color cast on the boy's face looks a little yellow to me, at least on my monitor, perhaps an adjustment on color temperature? Second, the dark side of the boy's face is a little too dark, for my taste in this type of photo. Perhaps you could adjust the overall exposure and gain just a little detail in this area? If you did a global adjustment, this would of course blow out the sky even more, so you might try a layer mask to control this, or just use dodge/burn tool - though I don't USUALLY have much success with this tool for brightening. At the time of photo capture, you could use some fill flash to help with this too - I would try -1 to -2 FEV.
    The second one is cute, and I do like it. It appears the DOF is VERY shallow. When you do this, it is very easy to get one eye tack sharp and the other... not so sharp - I have done this MANY MANY times myself! It appears there is some added blurring around the face also, which is fine, though for my tastes, the edges of the face get lost in the blur, and I'm not sure I like this. Did you add some extra saturation to the blue eyes? The whites of the eyes look very white, maybe just a little too white. Many people like this type of look and if that is what you were going for, then well done - again this is a matter of taste and what look you are going for. What lens was this taken with?

Now you could help me by letting me know if any of my assumptions are incorrect, as I am trying to learn as well.