Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Flash mystery..

Real Name
    Lennart Elg

Flash mystery..

I am a novice to TTL flash use, and decided to test a set of flash diffusers, to see which would work best for me. My first results are posted at http://www.flickr.com/photos/len_elg...7628131252489/ .

The results show up an unexpected mystery: Most exposures were spot on, but as you can see from the RAW Converter screenshots, a few came out heavily underexposed.

All photos were taken on the same occasion, using a Nikon D3100, an AF-S Nikkor 35 mm f1:1.8G lens, and a Yongnuo YN465 Speedlite in TTL mode. Exif data confirm that the camera was set at 1/60 sec, f1.8 and ISO 200 for all exposures, and that the flash had fired. I repeated the underexposed shots to make sure nothing spurious had caused this.

The flash modes I tested were:
    - Bare flash head on (underexposed)
    - Bare flash bounced at ceiling, built in reflecting card deployed (exposure OK)
    - Lumiquest Pocket Bouncer (underexposed)
    - Lumiquest Soft box (underexposed)
    - Lumiquest Soft box aimed 45 degrees up (OK)
    - Homemade softbox (OK)
    - Demb Big Flip-it bounce card, straight up (OK)
    - Demb Big Flip-it bounce card, leaned 15 degrees behind vertical (OK)
    - Demb Big Flip-it bounce card, straight up, front diffuser mounted (OK)

I will of course have to repeat the experiment in a different setting. Meanwhile, does anyone have a clue what is going on here? My best guess is that when the flash is aimed straight forward, a reflected hotspot fools the TTL to underexpose. But I cannot really see this in the lighting patterns.

Real Name
    Pete Jones

Re: Flash mystery..

Asking which metering mode are you using? Evaluative, partial,spot or center weighted..? Thinking maybe the focus point may come into play. Just saying, for example, if the camera were focusing on one of the dark or light objects in the room to obtain a reading.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Hi Lennart,