Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help for Novice - Canon 60D or 600D?

Real Name
    Ramki

Help for Novice - Canon 60D or 600D?

This is my first time here. I have for years been buying point & shoot cameras, and unhappy with results from recent key events that were photographed. I am travelling on holiday to Cambodia (to see the old temples there) and later in the year to Kenya (for an Aftrican Safari). So this time want to spend some hard earned money on a good camera. Trying to choose between Canon 60D and Canon 600D. I know that 60D is mid-range and more expensive and a heavier as well (both self and wife have weak shoulders, sigh!). I dont want to make a mistake in choosing the wrong camera. My request to you is to kindly advise me on which is the better one? I also need your help in choosing the right lens. (I do tend to take many pictures inside our home when the kids arrive for holidays, or in some malls. Just a bit of extra info) Thank you in advance

Real Name
    Richard

Re: Help for Novice

Either the 600D or 60D will provide excellent imagery. I would personally prefer the slightly larger and slightly more versatile 60D to the 600D because of the following:

I like the control system of the 60D which has two control wheels.
    I like the top LCD of the 60D.
    I like the one user selected mode in which you can set any of the camera parameters, register them and then select these parameters with one turn of the dial. You can have your camera set up for non-moving subjects but have the parameters for fast moving subjects registered and ready to set with the mode dial.

Here is a side by side comparison of the two cameras...

http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-600d-vs-Canon_EOS_60D