Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tips on capturing

Real Name
    Kori

Tips on capturing

If anyone could let me know if it's possible - with the scene below to have the bridge brighter(so you can see that it's a bridge) yet keep the sunset effect???

I took this last night - it was getting cold, so I didn't set up the tripod - I hand held the camera and tried to quickly get a shot in to see what it would look like. I can go back with the tripod, and any suggestions.... and winter jacket, hat.... ha ha ha

I'm still learning all the shutter and aperature stuff here...so is it possible???? And if so...do you keep the shutter open longer, I wouldn't think so because then the effect wouldn't be "sunet"...???? Am I asking the impossible here?? LOL

Camera Settings: Manual Mode: F/10, 1/25 sec, ISO 200

Thanks for your help!!!!!!

Kori

Tips on capturing

Real Name
    Chris

Re: Tips on capturing

same as with the tunnel - (a) must shoot RAW/NEF) (b) do a soft brush selection on the bit you want to draw more detail from and use D-Lighting (sometimes referred to as fill flash or protect shadows) (c) adjust settings to avoid visible boundaries.

Have only seen Paintshop Pro in action once; am a Nikon Capture devotee and keep a starter guide on it on my pbase site.

Real Name
    Kori

Okay - so I have to make sure when I take pictures to always use RAW now!

I'll have to go back and reshoot in RAW and see what I can do post processing with my Paint Shop program.

Thanks! I am glad that I'm not asking the impossible!

Kori

PS...I'll be looking at your page now!

Kori, once you shoot raw and discover it's benefits I'm sure you will never go back to shooting Jpeg.

Real Name
    Kori

Thanks Bill-

I sure hope so....Question though.....

If I shoot in RAW - do all my other setting stay the same - as if I was shooting in JPEG...like Aperature, Shutter speed...etc...Do I have compensate for anything????

Thank you!

Real Name