Thread: First DSLR - plus old Pentax/Tamron lenses

First DSLR - plus old Pentax/Tamron lenses

Hello, I'm new to CIC and new to digital photography, other than a little happy snapper. I'm interested in upgrading to a DSLR, and totally bewildered by the choice available both in cameras and lenses. I read Dizzy's journey and thought processes (a great idea and so helpful for other new users!), and am getting from that that there's not terribly much difference between good quality cameras, it's the lenses that make the difference. What I really want to do is to be able to take candid people shots from far off with shallow depth of field, and I don't need a camera that is way over and above what I need - I'm not sure if I'll take to photography in a big way, although it sounds very addictive! We already have an old Pentax Super A camera with a zoom lens (70 to 210mm), a Tamron 500 mm mirror lens that we bought for a safari, and a 24 to 50mm lens. All are about 25 years old! I understand that these lenses are back-compatible, but that unlike the lenses for DSLR cameras they would still be manual focus only. I was wondering about just buying a digital Pentax and using these lenses, but am worried about being able to focus as my sight isn't what it used to be! If I choose just to buy a new DSLR camera, is there much market for old Pentax lenses? Am open to a bridging camera if it will do the people shots, but I suspect not... Any ideas about a good camera for me, or about the Pentax/Tamron lenses would be greatly appreciated!

Real Name
    Johan J Ingles-Le Nobel

Re: First DSLR - plus old Pentax/Tamron lenses

Hello,