Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Saint-Bertrand-de-Comminges

Real Name
    Mike

Saint-Bertrand-de-Comminges

Due to health reasons, me and my camera have been gathering dust recently. So it was with a great sense of relief and liberation I was once more able to emerge into the sunshine again.

Saint Bertrand de Comminges, is a little way from where I live in the foothills of the Pyrenees. It is a medieval walled town with an 11th century Cathedral, built on top of the Roman city of Lugdunam Covenarum, which had a population of 30.000 at its peak. The region is littered with historical and cultural treasures.

I took a whole bunch of photos of the Cathedral (except the interior which was not allowed on the day that I went there), and its surroundings and here are a few of them.

I wanted to share some images of this lovely and interesting place with you and also would welcome some C&C, as this is my first attempt at photographing something other than things around the house and garden.

Thanks,

Mike

Last edited by Dave Humphries; 9th September 2011 at 06:46 PM. Reason: added numbers for images

Real Name
    Liz

Re: Saint-Bertrand-de-Comminges

I really like the archway as a frame. The lighting is very nice. I am an amateur so don't know all the important things, but I want to learn to take pictures like that.

Real Name
    Mike

Thank you for the kind comment Liz (one of my daughters name also ).

I have to admit to being a humble amateur myself, only bought a proper camera a few months ago, so its all a big mystery still for me too

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Mike

Great to see you back in action again.

What a wonderful part of the world. You lucky guy.

I really like the composition on the first one, but it seems a bit flat. Obviously taken at a very bright time of day. I wonder if a good dose of Local Contrast Enhancement, just to make it 'pop' a bit more, would help?

Real Name
    Mike

Good to be back Donald Thanks for the comment.