Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: The Blue Line

Real Name
    Frank Miller

The Blue Line

I usually know where I need help and ask for specific C&C. This time I'm not so sure just what the image needs. Any C&C is welcomed, of course, as I am still learning (aren't we all?).

The Blue Line

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: The Blue Line

Frank

I would pose the question - Is the image just too busy?

So, instead of asking - What does it need?, the question becomes - What does it not need?

I've just taken a sheet of paper and covered over the building to the left of the tracks as we look at it. I think it changes the image completely. The attention is then on the very bold lines, shapes and tones of the tracks, the transportation, the shrubbery and the platforms. And I think if there was some way of removing the building from the image, then it would take-off.

And I can't see how you could possibly re-shoot to achieve that. So, it might be one of those 'if only' scenes, where the ideal picture is just not possible.

But, of course, other people might disagree with me.
    Last edited by Donald; 23rd August 2011 at 03:50 PM.

Real Name
    Scott Benz

Crisp, clean and interesting were my initial reactions to it. I like the colors, the bricks, the train and the building on the left. I'm still a rookie so I'll leave the C&C to the vets. Where was it taken?

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Thank you Donald. I knew there was something not quite right but I couldn't put my finger on it. You are correct, there is very little in the way of shooting options for the train BUT, I did take other shots that evening. Here is one of the same scene with a more 'personal' touch.

The Blue Line

I think this one may have a better chance.

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Quote Originally Posted by epmi314 View Post