Thread: Recommendations - moving from beginner to advanced DSLR

Recommendations - moving from beginner to advanced DSLR

Hey all,
    I am a rather new photographer who seems to have found a cool hobby and want to get better at it. Let me tell you a little about what I plan to do and maybe you can help decide on my next camera. I spend most of my camera time taking pics of bands in clubs and venues where the lighting is very very low. I usually shoot from about 6 to 20 feet away from my subject depending on the stage/barricade set up. About 2 years ago I bought my first real camera a Nikon D40 with the 18-55mm and 70-200mm lens, and have become fairly competent with it, but I have come to realize the limitations of this camera. At the time I had bought it because I heard it was a great beginners camera and the price was right. So I am looking to move up to a better camera. I am going to stick with the Nikon in hopes of using the existing lens I have with the new body, unless someone tells me that brand XXX is the perfect camera for low light shooting. So here are my questions: Based on low light shooting, high frames per second capability (6fps or better) in both auto and manual.

1). I am looking at the D90 or D300 which is better for my application? Or is there another body you would recommend?

2). High ISO capability.

3). High FPS capability.

Thanks In Advance

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Recommendations

Hi Thantos,

I'm a Canon man, so can't help with any Nikon recommendations (although you might like to look at something like the Canon 5D Mk. II (5D2) with something like an EF85/1.2L lens?

With this kind of shooting, something always have to give (and often it's money!) ...