Thread: How do I meter correctly for landscapes?

Real Name
    Gary Marsh

How do I meter correctly for landscapes?

I am fairly new to digital photography and eager to learn new skills and techniques to bring the best out of my images, my favourite subject is landscape scenes. What I would like to know is how do I correctly expose an image to bring out the best detail in the foreground and background. I have read about spot metering certain parts of the scene and calculating the different exposure readings and using ND graduated filters or even polarising filters. Most of my scenes are of countryside and ocassionally coastal scenes e.g rocks/sea.

What I am not sure about is in particular is how do I spot read a scene, do I set my camera's metering system to spot metering and then lock the exposure for instance on the foreground and then do the same for example the sky but not sure what to do next?
    Just for the record I am using a entry level Nikon D3000 dslr and a Tamron 10mm-24mm f4-f5.6 for my landscape shots.
    Any help on this topic is greatly appreciated!
    Gary

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: How do I meter correctly for landscapes?

Hi Gary,

It is very difficult to discuss the subject in 'free space'; i.e. without an example shot or two, there are just too many variables that may lead to confusion between us.

Do you have any shots (obviously they don't need to be correct)?
    Your own would be better to talk about, since you'll relate to them better, but if we have to, I, or someone else, can no doubt supply an image.

Welcome to the CiC forums from ....

To give a very simple example, Gary, and something which often catches me out.

Consider a landscape but with a few white houses scattered around. Or for that matter a seascape with white boats.

Using Evaluative/matrix metering should work OK but it can easily miss these 'hot spots' which will then appear over exposed.