Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Anyone using Nikon 105mm DC F2 lens?

Real Name
    Eon

Anyone using Nikon 105mm DC F2 lens?

Hi

Just wondered if any of you guys own one of these, and if you would go with a better alternative?

Read a lot of good things about the 105 and would be good for portraits without getting in peoples faces as I do with my 50mm 1.8D at the moment,

Thanks

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Anyone using Nikon 105mm DC F2 lens?

What camera will you want to use it on Eon?

(although my concern about lack of AF may be unfounded if you have the 50/1.8D and use it on anything from a D90 and above)

I have the 105mm macro, a full stop slower, although that's unlikely to matter too much unless you only want one eye in focus depends whether macro appeals as a 'second use'

I don't know the lens you suggest, but I expect my macro is heavier too

Cheers,

Real Name
    Peter

Hi Eon, I have no experience with this lens, but have had a very serious look at buying the 135mm DC lens a while ago. Ken Rockwell has a review on it here. What stopped me buying it was the fact that apart from the great bokeh possibilities you get (if you learn how to use this lens properly that is), it isn't really suited for macro work. It is pretty specialized. Also, the 135mm on a DX body, posed a bit of a restriction, because you get really close that way.
    What I also do when I am contemplating a lens is look at the specific group on Flickr (in this case the 105mm F/2 user group) to check the kind of pictures people make with the lens.