Thread: Field of View on Crop-Factor Cameras

Field of View on Crop-Factor Cameras

Hi

I recently made Photgraphy as hobby and I have been going through several forums and discussions on DSLR and lens compatability. I could not find a clear answer on the following. May be there is a discussion or article , I might have missed.

I have Canon XS body and recently purchased EF-S 17-55MM Lens. What is the field of view for this lens on Cropped bodies ?.

I know if it is a EF lens , then the field of view on Cropped bodies 17*1.6 and 55 *1.6

Is it same even if it is a EF-S lens?

Thanks and regards

Subra
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 22nd May 2011 at 09:25 AM.

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

re: Field of View on Crop-Factor Cameras

I'm not an optics expert but I think your idea sounds good to me. Mine crops at 1.5X so my Nikon 18-70mm lens works like a 27 - 105mm lens on my Nikon D70. May I ask why are you so interested on the actual field of view of your lens?

I dont know much about Nikon lens. Canon makes two kinds of Lens

1. EF Lens can be used on Croped bodies and Full bodies like 5D.
    2. EF-S Lens can be used only on Cropped bodies like XS, XSI, 10D, 20D etc.

Curious to know , EF-S lenses also have the same filed of view like EF lenses when used on Cropped bodies.

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

OK. Perhaps this link can help you: http://www.the-digital-picture.com/C...op-Factor.aspx

I could not get a clear answer even after reading the article.

Any straight answer from the experts ?

Real Name
    Robin