Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Please Help with feedback.

Real Name
    Shannon

Please Help with feedback.

Hi, I am new to photography, (about two months) I just started taking college photography classes. I admire the work of many people on this site. I would love it if I could get some feedback on my pictures. I would like some suggestions on how to take my pictures to the next level where they look more professional, sharp and clear. Thanks so much.. !!

birdforschool.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 18th May 2011 at 10:34 PM. Reason: add image inline

Re: Please Help with feedback.

Some scenes, Shannon, are very difficult; if not impossible to get good results. And you have one there.

Personally, I would have just looked at that scene and kept on walking; unless it was a rare bird.

You are shooting a dark subject against a bright background which is fraught with difficulties. Increasing the exposure would help, although the background will over expose.

But the biggest problem is that branch which is obscuring a lot of the scene and 'overwhelming' the bird. You might just about get away with it in colour but it is all too dark in B&W.

Brightening the whole scene would help but it is never going to be a 'prizewinner'.

Not your fault, though. Merely the wrong camera angle for a successful shot. And I don't suppose the bird was willing to co-operate and adopt a better pose.

Don't get disheartened by this one photo; you did what you could with the scene.

Real Name
    Shannon