Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: new to Shooting Sports How to set up my camera? please help

new to Shooting Sports How to set up my camera? please help

Hi, Im new to photography and on here and would like to ask for help setting up my camera for sports. I have a Canon Rebel XS. Also i am using a Canon 70-300 lens. Im going to be shooting lacrosse a real fast pace game. Any help on how to set up my camera would be greatly appreciated thank you

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: new to Shooting Sports How to set up my camera? please help

Quote Originally Posted by laxman View Post
    Hi, Im new to photography and on here and would like to ask for help setting up my camera for sports. I have a Canon Rebel XS. Also i am using a Canon 70-300 lens. Im going to be shooting lacrosse a real fast pace game. Any help on how to set up my camera would be greatly appreciated thank you
    Hi Laxman,

Firstly welcome to the CiC forums from me.

Secondly; could you give us a first name please?

Now to business (sorta).

Pardon my ignorance, Lacrosse - that's a kind of hockey isn't it?
    Is that played indoors or outdoors?
    If outdoors; daytime or floodlit? - I ask because it will make a difference to the advice we/I offer.

The main thing to say is don't under-expose if low light.

What you want is probably shutter priority (Tv) and choose a high-ish speed; at least 1/500, more if possible.
    To achieve this, you may need to 'up the iso' to say 800 or more.

There are others more experienced than I that may help more, and I can if you can answer those questions.

Cheers for now,

hey thanks alot my name is Josh and yea its like hockey its outside daytime usually round 12 yea and i can go moer then 1/500 .

Real Name
    Jim

Hi Josh,
    Welcome to CiC.I'm not a sports shooter,but this might help with some basics.
    http://www.astropix.com/SPORTSPIX/NSC/TIPS08.HTM

Jim

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Quote Originally Posted by laxman View Post