Thread: How do you know what to do to enhance a photo?

Real Name
    Christina

How do you know what to do to enhance a photo?

I'm still learning to edit photos to enhance them using Photoshop Elements 9 and Lightroom 4.1 but you know sometimes when I edit a photo the edited version looks worse, especially if I try B&W.

In Adobe I typically open the raw photo, and enhance exposure and clarity, and sometimes contrast. In lightroom I typically use colour curves to see if the photo looks better or not...

Perhaps this is too, large a question but you know this editing to improve photos is a puzzle... Is their anything that I am obviously doing wrong?

Original

Edited

In B&W (Scenic Landscape)

Original

Edited (likely using autotone in lightroom)

Thank you.

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Re: How do you know what to do to enhance a photo?

Really great question, Christina. I believe it requires a two-part answer: You need to develop a vision of how you want the finished image to look and you need to master the technique of making that happen. My experience in the beginning was that the two took place simultaneously over time, though I have no idea if that's generally the case for everyone.

I recommend that you review the CiC tutorial: https://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tu...g-workflow.htm

As an aside, I reviewed the tutorial for the first time just now and was a little surprised to see that sharpening is recommended to be done before using the Levels & Curves tools. I'm used to seeing recommendations to do those in the opposite order and that's how I do it. I wouldn't be surprised to conclude that the order of those two probably doesn't matter.

You might consider mastering B&W or color processing rather than trying to master both at the same time, though that might be mostly a reflection of how I tend to approach things.

Hey Christina,