Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Ornament Photo looking for feedback

Real Name
    Dale Ashby

Ornament Photo looking for feedback

Ornament Photo looking for feedback

I am relatively new to serious photography (more than point and shoot) and I am looking for feedback on this photo to help me learn. I used a Nikon D5100 w/ 18-55mm AF-S VR 1:3.5 - 5.6G Nikkor lens. I used Auto Focus and settings were F/5.6, 1/60, ISO 1400, Flash Sync Mode is Front Curtain, VR on.

I started with Auto Focus as I am learning how to use the manual settings for aperture, shutter speed, etc. My goal is to start shifting toward using the shutter priority and aperture priority modes more to experiment.

Feedback on the image composition would also be helpful.

Looking forward to learning and growing as a photographer.

Dale

Re: Ornament Photo looking for feedback

It's sharp and pretty, but lacks interest in subject matter. As an exercise,
    it may be useful.

While it's not a problem here, at 1/60th, you should be using a tripod. When
    using a tripod with that lens, most people say you should turn the VR off.

If you have a editing program like Photoshop or Elements, that ornament
    over the top left of the creche should be cloned out.

Dale, welcome to CiC. I would start with what are you trying to capture in the picture? The ornament is cool esp the rainbow colors, and the inlay-ed figures. You have good DOF brushing out to the left. I start by making a square with my hands and close one eye and find what attracted my attention(subject) in the first place. Next I replicate it to the best of my ability in my view finder. Don't knock a P&S I put my old one in the hands of a professional photographer and his images were better than anything I have done with my DSLR.

Ryo

Real Name
    Gary Whitcutt