Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Barrel Race

Real Name
    Sherry

Barrel Race

Here are few pictures I took a couple weekends ago. I used my Nikon D80 with the 85mm lens. Yours comments would be greatly appreciated as I'm still learning and would love to improve. Thanks in advance...Sherry

Barrel Race,Barrel Race,Barrel Race

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Barrel Race

Hi Sherry, and welcome to the CiC forums from me, great to have you join us.

Taking them in turn and offering constructive criticism;
    #1 was shot at 1/800, f3.2 iso200 and rather blurred and possibly needing a minor clockwise twist, I'd say not a keeper this one

#2 was shot at 1/800, f3.5 iso200 - and beautifully sharp, plus good separation of subject and background with that aperture choice this one is my favourite

#3 was shot at 1/800, f4.5 iso200; again pretty sharp, but definitely worth levelling, as that would emphasize the angle the horse is at in the turn

As a series, the biggest problem is they are all about a stop over exposed, blowing the highlights and I'd deal with that by going up in shutterspeed. The (typical) bright trailers and cars in the background at these kind of events, rarely help us though but you've made a good choice to keep the lens fairly open. The composition/crops are all pretty good too. I appreciate the light was harsh and not from the best of angles.

The other thing I noticed is that you have posted them all at a large size, often, downsizing and sharpening after that step, before uploading (at say 1200 wide) can help 'sharpen up' the softer ones.

What software are you using?

We have many equine photographers here at CiC, but I'd probably offer Thierry up as the most accomplished, he shoots at longer focal lengths and wider apertires to get even better separation of subject and background, I must try that myself, or as close as my kit allows me to emulate

Hope that helps,

Real Name
    Ron

Quote Originally Posted by Sdoran6219 View Post