Thread: Is buying a used speedlight a good idea?

Real Name
    Tyler Berge

Is buying a used speedlight a good idea?

I have been looking for speedlights for portait shooting. I cannot afford a new one right now. I have found a used CANON SPEEDLITE 430EZ at my local camera shop. Is it a good idea to buy one?

rob marshall

Re: Is buying a used speedlight a good idea?

I'd say you are fairly safe. Speedlites are pretty tough and last a long time. There isn't a lot that can go wrong (unlike a camera). Try to get a short warranty from the shop - say three months.

Real Name
    Richard

It depends on the price. I have been shooting with a Canon 550EX for about five years now. I bought it used and got it at a good price. It has worked flawlessly. It may not have all the bells and whistles of the newer 580EX (series) flashes but, it does what I want it to do, providing good light for my images...

Real Name
    Tyler Berge

Quote Originally Posted by rpcrowe View Post
    It depends on the price. I have been shooting with a Canon 550EX for about five years now. I bought it used and got it at a good price. It has worked flawlessly. It may not have all the bells and whistles of the newer 580EX (series) flashes but, it does what I want it to do, providing good light for my images...
    They have three flashes that are used, two of them are $79.99 and the one is $99.99. I'm going to go in to the shop and look at them.

Real Name
    Elie

I highly recommend you buy one and start experimenting with bouncing the light off of it into walls, ceilings, etc..

After you get comfortable with that, start looking into learning off-camera flash techniques.

If you have a 7D or any other Canon that can trigger the flash wirelessly, then a flash like 430 Ex would be ok IMO, however, if you have an older Canon or one that doesn't support that feature, I would get a 580 Ex or ExII.

I've had older used versions of the 430Ex and never had a problem.