Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Tripod Confusion

Real Name
    debbie

Tripod Confusion

I am just a beginner, however, would like to buy a tripod for Nikon D3000. There are so many out there. Pan head, Tilt, Ball, tall, short...What to do? I could use some good advice on this topic. Too many to choose, of course budget helps a bit. Something light and under couple hundred dollars will also help. Any comment is appreciated.

Real Name
    Allen Conway

Re: Tripod Confusion

I don't have an answer to offer because I'm looking for the same kind of advice, but I would like to check whether we're on the same quest...
    As I understand it heavy is good (or can be good). I'm interested in buying a tripod light enough to be able to carry around as I go up a not very high, not too steep a hill. Are you? Or are you instead looking for a tripod that will provide good stability at a reasonable price that you can take from your car when you need to?

Real Name
    debbie

I think I want to be able to take it on small walks, nothing rediculous. I wrote to a person that taught a class recently and asked him for advice. He told me to get a sturdy one, about $100-$200 in cost. If you go to inexpensive, the tripod won't last throughout your needs. Stil looking around.

Well, heavy and strong = stable and long lasting.

But, yes, heavy and cumbersome can be problems.

I use a Manfrotto 055X with a ball head and strap it outside of my camera back pack when walking long distances, well relatively long for me!

But for lightweight occasional easy carry use, I have a Velbon Luxi L which has 4 section legs so it will fold up small enough to fit inside my backpack. Easier and cheaper it may be, but for serious use I still use the Manfrotto.