Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: what file size to shoot: large, medium or small

what file size to shoot: large, medium or small

i am new to dslr and shoot mostly Large size files, but they are huge to save on a HD and wish to know what to expect from each file size,large, medium and small. can u make enlargments from a small size file?

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: what file size to shoot: large, medium or small

Hi amadeo,

This is difficult to answer without knowing your expectations, your camera and what format file we are talking about.

I'll describe what I have so you know what to expect.
    I have a 6MP camera for which I use the 'Fine' or highest quality setting for jpg files, this produces a files between 2.75 and 3.2MB in size for my 2848 x 2136 pixels. On a 2GB memroy card that's about 680 pictures. However, if I shoot RAW, as I often do these days for a variety of reasons, the files are about 13MB each, so the capacity drops to 150 shots before the card is full.

There are two ways to squeeze more capacity with jpg; reduce the quality by selecting something like 'Normal' rather than 'Fine', or you can reduce the number of pixels saved. You could, on some cameras, shoot at 640 x 480 and have thousands of pictures on a card, but I wouldn't recommend it as you guessed right, these will not print large at all.

Memory is cheap, so why compromise on size or quality?

I suspect most people shoot at the max. resolution because you never know when you're going to shoot THE picture that you might want as say, a 44 by 22 inch canvas for hanging on your wall. But if you shot it at 1600 x 1200 (equivalent to 2MP), what's the point in having a DSLR that can do much better than that?

Hope that helps,

I tend to shoot RAW, so I can twiddle the white balance and things. Yeah, the files are big and are irritating to store, but hard drives are cheap really and £80 for 500Mb or 1Tb drive is nothing compared to what you're spending in terms of gear.