Thread: Hello all..first time here - essential camera gear?

Hello all..first time here - essential camera gear?

Howdy folks. I am brand new to photography. I am a returning army vet going to school on a GI Bill and I am at the end of my associate degree in business. They said I had to take a fine art course to graduate so I chose Intro to Photography. Worse mistake I have made in a long time! I am hooked. I have dumped $2k on camera equipment and spend all my time reading, researching, and learning all I can about photography. I guess its' a healthier hobby than others I have had over the years. Anyway, any help or advice at all would be greatly appreciated.

I think I have enough gear to get me started. If I am missing something you might suggest as "essential" to starting out please throw me a reply. I purchased :

Canon rebel Xsi w/ kit lens ( 18-55mm IS )
    Canon 55-250mm IS
    Sigma 10-20 DC wide angle
    a neutral density filter 58mm
    a circular polarizer 58mm
    and UV/haze in each size 58 and 77

I have learned sooo much in the last 4 weeks that I cannot stand to even look at the pictures I have been taking over the years that are in my house lol.

Thanks in advance for any help, and thanks for having me here.
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 15th February 2009 at 11:41 PM. Reason: Keeping the "clean" in "clean and lean" :)

Re: Hello all..first time here - essential camera gear?

Tripod might be a good purchase, depends on your needs really. What kind you choose is down to several things though, primarily price, weight (of the tripod), portability, ruggedness/ max supported weight and stability in breezy situations etc.