Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Soliciting advice for shooting county fair

Real Name
    Al

Soliciting advice for shooting county fair

OK, I just took my new Canon 5DMkII out of the box... haven't even taken a quick snap with it yet. I've been shooting with the 7D for the past several months, so I don't expect any major adjustments for getting used to the controls, etc... but I do want to break it in at the county fair this weekend, and that will include some daylight shots and some low-light shooting at night. I'm planning on taking the 24-105mm f/4 IS and the 70-200mm f/2.8 (non-IS) with a Manfrotto monopod. I do intend to push the low-light limits a bit in this situation, just to see what I can get away with, but I've never done any night shooting before, and I've never shot at a fair before, either, so mistakes are inevitable and I expect to learn a lot from the experience. Obviously, this is an opportunity to get some candid people shots, some motion-blur shots, and (of course) the required ferris wheel shot.

Having said all that, any advice and suggestions before the fact are greatly appreciated.

Real Name
    Mike

Re: Soliciting advice for shooting county fair

Al,
    I had wanted to take my camera to our county fair last year but ended up not being able to. You should have a great time and it sounds like you have a pretty good list of equipment. The tripod being a must.

Might I also suggest a flash. Sorry, I am not familiar with your camera so I don't know if it has one on board.

I would also consider (forgive me if you are already doing this) using mirror lock up. It is amazing how much distortion the mirror slap can create in a slow shutter shot. A remote shutter release will also help minimize distortion in slow shutter speed shots.

I am envious. Our county fair is in August if we even have one. Money is a little tight here for the state and counties. Have a great time and please post some of you shots!

Mike

Real Name