Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Comments/advice appreciated.

Real Name
    Eon

Comments/advice appreciated.

Hi All,

Thought I would put this pic up I took.

Used my D7000 with 50mm 1.8D. No flash, just a desk top light and shot in manual.

The inspiration for this pic was I thought black and chrome would work well and also seeing Rob Marshall's work. I positioned the lighter on granite. I don't have photoshop, but all I did was crop a little.

I will let you guys be the judge as I am very new to photography and respect your opinions.

Best
    Eon

zippo2.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images

Real Name
    Eon

Re: Comments/advice appreciated.

Just as an add on, I shot at 1/40 F2.8 ISO 400 and would be curious to know what settings you guys would approach this shot with?
    Thanks in advance

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

If this is SOOC (Straight Out Of Camera), Eon then I think you did good. I am not so sure if you have used any kind or reflectors to add some detail on the dark areas but using one would help you get the dramatic effect you need to make this one more interesting. The shot is a bit tightly cropped. I was thinking if you can add some more extra space on top of the subject to make it balanced.

For a straight out of camera shot this is really promising. However, I have to say, in order for you to bring out your imagination well and make this shot become more convincing and powerful you need the help of some post-processing software. The software can help you make your black become true black and your bright areas shine without blowing up the details. Your shot is even better than my shot SOOC! Your camera setting is good. At that shutter speed I hope you used a tripod to prevent camera shake. If this would be my shot, I would probably angle it a little bit to show more volume or dimension compared to a straight shot to the camera. Nice work, Man.
    Last edited by jiro; 9th April 2011 at 12:30 AM.

Eon