Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Newbie here,What's lacking

Real Name
    Jack

Newbie here,What's lacking

I was out yesterday enjoying the warm weather and this caught my eye. For some reason this scene seems cliche, but what's lacking?

C&C at will

BTW... Great forum

Thanks
    Jack

Re: Newbie here,What's lacking

well, what exactly caught your eye?...I can see a crop on the window (although the bike is in the way...)

Real Name
    Jack

I guess the image of the bike leaning against the wall, I remember that image somewhere in B&W.... or I could be mistaken

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Hi Jack (don't say that too loud on an aeroplane!),

First up, welcome to the forums - great to have you with us. If you get a chance, pop a reply onto the welcome thread so we can all welcome you properly

With regards to the image - Hmmm - tough one. Personally, I think it's exposed and processed nicely enough - might be possible to coax a bit more saturation / texture / range out of it, but at the end of the day it just looks to me like a relatively bland scene.

I've struck this kind of thing before myself - I see something that catches my eye - I photograph it (sometimes several times over several days), but for some reason the beauty we saw just doesn't translate into something that appeals in a photograph.

Tell you what though - you did VERY well to get it displaying inline first time without help - not many manage to do that!

Real Name
    Jack

Thank for the kind words,

Real Name
    Chris

Hi & welcome Jack

this sort of image reminds of university days mid 60s when the new buildings were mostly brutalist concrete and one was never quite sure whether it was 'sculpture' or abandoned bicycles on the side. Bicycles tended to be nicked, so more probably sculpture. I don't think the garbage can to the right is helping, maybe a square crop.....hey that looks like rather a good bicycle to be left

Real Name
    Daniel