Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Two Friends - Critique and Comments please

Real Name
    Dinesh

Two Friends - Critique and Comments please

Hi there,

I am new to CIC and this is my first photo I am posting for critique and comments.

This was a casual photo taken by me of two of my friends at a private function. Recently I have been experimenting with using semi-automatic settings on my Canon 40D camera. To the naked eye the photo looks good, however, I am looking for suggestions on how I could have improved the composition, setttings and /or use of flash that would have made the photo look great. The main settings used are listed below. The flash was reflected from the ceiling and I used a Stofen diffuser on the Canon 430 EX flash. Your feedback and suggestions will be highly appreciated. The photo posted is without any post processing. I had chosen AV mode and set the aperture. Other settings were automatic as selected by the camera. I had chosen manual AF point just below the left eye of my friend on the right side in the photo.

Dinesh

Camera Model Canon EOS 40D
    Shooting Mode Aperture-Priority AE
    Tv( Shutter Speed ) 1/15
    Av( Aperture Value ) 5.6
    Metering Mode Evaluative Metering
    Exposure Compensation -1 2/3
    ISO Speed 400
    Lens EF-S18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
    Focal Length 39.0mm

Real Name
    Mark

Re: Two Friends - Critique and Comments please

Not a bad snapshot. The background has too many distracting elements (top left wall, air con vent, gap in curtains, ceiling light, wall decoration). Look at Colin's series of tutorials on taking portraits. I know this isn't a portrait in the true sense of the word, but by applying some of the basic techniques this could be a really good shot. One of the first topics he deals with is choosing the right background. Is this straight out the camera or have you applied some processing to it? I would also like a tighter crop on the faces.

Real Name
    Dinesh

Hello Mark,