Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Advice on graduated ND filters for landscape photos

Real Name
    Ali

Advice on graduated ND filters for landscape photos

Hi Everyone,

I need some advice on buying GND filters. I have never used any GND filters before. To get ready for some landscape photography I have been reading about them and as I understand, the reason my skys are always washed out is that I am not using these filters. I need to get some advice from those who use it regularly as to what brand and what different strengths (stops) I need to have to cover most situations, without spending a fortune. The only filter I currently have is a Hoya CL polarizer filter.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Graduated ND filters

Here begins a journey ...

GNDs come in 2 flavours ... ones that screw in and ones that you can put in a mount and slide up and down. Screw-in ones are a total waste of money because you can't move where the graduation start, and would be limited to referencing everything to the middle of the filter which is seldom where we want it to be.

For sliding filters you'll first need a filter holder and lens adaptor ring (to account for various lens diameters) - there are two common brands out there the first is Lee and the second is Cokin. Lee are better quality, Cokin are cheaper.

Sliding filters come in two common sizes; 84mm x 120mm and 100mm x 150mm (post card size) - my advice is to stick with the bigger ones right from the start as they give you a lot more room for error, especially when hand-holding - plus, once you go past a certain lens size they're mandatory anyway.

I use singh-ray GND filters exclusively, from www.singh-ray.com, but they're not cheap - there are other manufacturers out there, but quality varies a lot - in general, "you get what you pay for".

In terms of what to start with, I'd suggest getting 3 ... all 3-Stop.

1. A 3-Stop Hard-Edge GND

2. A 3-Stop Hard-Edge REVERSE GND

3. A 3-Stop soft edge GND.