Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: First attempt at a portrait.

Real Name
    André

First attempt at a portrait.

Hey.

This is my first attempt at a portrait. I'm not entirely sure about the composition. I'm thinking there should've been more space at the top of the picture. And the eyes kinda disappears into black nothing. I like it a lot though. Probably because my girlfriend is super cute! But I digress...

Lighting is my TV and a little flourescent bulb.

Any hints and tips on how to make my next one superior to this one?

First attempt at a portrait.

- André

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Re: First attempt at a portrait.

Always set your cameras' focus point on the eyes. That would make any portrait nice when the eyes are sharper than the rest. In portrait mode, like the one you did, it's a common practice to locate the level of the eyes at the top 1/3 using the rule of thirds. I think you did good on this one. I just wish that her smile was more relaxed.

Real Name
    Chriss Goyenechea

Show more eyes! They are the windows to your soul.

Tell your model to not squint and like Jiro said... focus point will the subjects eyes.

I'm happier mostly with bugs or boats, etc, Andre, so don't take anything I say as an experienced opinion.

But, for me, I agree about having more space; the alternative is to crop a lot tighter and only show the chin to eyes, approx, area.

Full frontal faces are difficult and a bit more working space between your camera and subject would help. I would like to see more of the face in focus. Out of focus hair is another discussion, sometimes it works and sometimes it spoils the effect.

But your problem, as I see it, is that if you use a narrower aperture to increase depth of field you are going to run into exposure problems unless you use a tripod and your model can hold a good pose. Increasing ISO is something to consider but I wouldn't want to go beyond ISO 400 here.