Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Wild waves!

Real Name
    Philip

Wild waves!

This is my first posting for c&c. I have entered a few comps to try and figure out where I fit in - I obviously have a lot to learn - so here goes. Please comment on any aspect of the photo, composition, cropping, etc.

Wild waves!

Real Name
    Amanda

Re: Wild waves!

Wild waves!
    Hi Philip. This is my first time to do a c&c but here goes .......

I have been looking at your stuff. I noticed you because I like the proverb you use as your signature. Overall I think you have something there but there is a learning process from point and shoot to real photography. Thankfully there is a lifetime of learning so we never 'get there' and have to go off and look for something else to do !

I have had some painful learning curves, I just think im getting better when I realise I am only a small inkling further on. One thing I have had to learn is that 'nice' or even 'interesting' shots, just dont make the grade. There has to be so many different elements that accompany a good scene.

I have made an attempt at making a few changes to your image to illustrate just one or two things.
    First I cropped it so that it was one third sky and two thirds land instead of dead centre horizon. I also cropped out some of the distracting elements top left and brought the lighthouse on the right in slightly.
    Then I added contrast to the picture, changed the colour teperature from that cold blue tone and did a bit of dodging and burning.
    Well as I said, its my first attempt at C&C.
    Then

Real Name
    Mike Bareham

I'll go along with the crop, but otherwise prefer the original image which better conveys the fine mist that accompanies a heavy swell. Amanda's edit has also lost the detail in the jetty and rocks.

Real Name
    Philip