Thread: Recommendation for First DSLR Camera

Real Name
    Carlos Andreu

Recommendation for First DSLR Camera

Hey guys, I need some advice...

Ill be getting my first DSLR in the next week or so. Now im an amateur photographer and I have become somewhat knowledgeable with all the theory behind it..but then egain this would be my first DSLR and I know its a complete diferent "monster" so alot of features and overal techniques will be completly different for me.
    I plan to use this camera for general use and action photograhpy (I'm an avid outdoorsman and montain biker)

This is my dilema:
    Im looking at the Canon Rebel T2I, T3I or Canon 60D, 50D. Now, all those cameras come with a Satandard lens that is good for everything but does not exell at anything (just a thought) At the same time I could just get the body and spend the $$ on a good lens for for action photography....
    The big this tha I see on the highet end cameras that I list is that the have higher FPS and that important for action photography..

This is what I have for lenses:
    Canon EF 50mm F1.8 II
    Canon EF 75-300mm F4-5.6 III
    Canon EF 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 IS

Im starting to settle for the 60D with Canon EF 50mmF1.8 II and then go from there...

What is you personal recomendation? Im trying to keep in under $1100.00 US.
    What combination of Camera or lens would you do?
    Is it better to get the better camera (Canon 60D) with the stardad lens and learn with that and later on upgrade??
    Im aware that even if I get the Canon Rebel T3I with the kit I would be happy and busy learning the skills but after reading soooo much about DSLR's and lenses I just confused myself...
    Thank for the input...
    Last edited by Dave Humphries; 11th March 2011 at 08:25 PM.

Re: New Camera Recomendation...

To give the best advice we really need to know a bit more about exactly what you want to photograph.