Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Elements to Consider when Buying a S-H Lens.

Elements to Consider when Buying a S-H Lens.

Hi
    After some searching for a good ultra-wide lens, I finally found a seller for the Sigma 10-20mm F4-5.6 EX DC HSM for 525 CAD (425 USD)
    It's been used 3 or 4 times since he last purchased it 5 months ago.
    It comes with the 10 years canadian warranty.

Now I'm skeptical because he says he has to sell this lens because of his new full frame camera. Why would someone buy a EF-S lens right before he acquire a full-frame, knowing it would be uncompatible?

Anyway, I plan to go see it soon and we agreed to test it on my XSI.
    My question is what to look for when examining the lens (other than scratches and visible sign of harm). I've always bought brand new, so I have no experience with second hand.

Is there any good tests to do? What to look for in the test shots (I will probably be limited to the rear-LCD when looking the images)? Etc.

I hope to buy this lens without troubles.

Thanks

Re: Elements to Consider when Buying a S-H Lens.

Check on internet for known issues about this particular lens.

Can you arrange a laptop or use te sellers laptop to examine the pictures?
    It's better then the LCD-screen.

Check for frontfocus and backfocus. (tripod?)
    http://www.focustestchart.com/focus21.pdf

I remember a story about a lens wich did a fine job in landscape-position and give problems in portrait-position.
    Something inside moved a bit wich caused slighty out of focus pictures.
    Maybe good to check in different positions.

Other people can add more advice i think.

You should be quite secure with 10 years warranty isn't it?
    An amazing long timeperiod for warranty in my opinion.
    Is it normal in Canada? How long is your XSI warranted?

Administrator
    Real Name
    Sean