Thread: Metering

Real Name
    Samuel Van Eldik

Metering

Hello
    I am very new to this.:(
    I need to try metering of the palm of my hand.
    The thing I do not understand is how the metering works in the camera?
    Can I get a reading from the camera or do I have to use a external light meter?:rolleyes:
    I can set the camera to spot metering, partial metering, Evaluative metering and center- weighted average.

Thank you

Sam

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Metering

Quote Originally Posted by underwater View Post
    Can I get a reading from the camera or do I have to use a external light meter?
    Sam

The answer to the key question in your post is - Yes, you can get a reading from the camera. And, for that, I'd use spot-metering.

But for a much better understanding than I can give you, please do read Sean's tutorial on the subject here. If, after reading that, you still have questions, then come straight back on here with them.

Real Name
    Samuel Van Eldik

Hi Donald

Yes I read the tutorial before I posted my question.
    I have a 7D canon camera, so where do find the metering reading?
    Is it a actual digital value on the camera?

Real Name
    Peter

Hi Samuel and welcome to CiC,

The camera has a very good light meter and it meter works automatically when you turn on the camera and take the lens cap off. Light passing through the lens will give you an Aperture and Shutter reading that reflects the amount of light required to record an image.

The shutter reflects time in photography and the aperture lets in varying quantities of light depending upon the size of the opening. The aperture also determines the Depth of Field, or area within the image that shows as sharp. Both the shutter and aperture can be adjusted to impart their influence on the end result. They do work in a reciprocal manner where an adjustment in one will yield and equal and opposite adjustment in the other to maintain the correct exposure.