Thread: Understanding DSLR zoom lens spec from a compact camera users perspective

Real Name
    Nagarajan

Understanding DSLR zoom lens spec from a compact camera users perspective

I am very new to the DSLR world - recently migrating from the compact camera world!
    One of the biggest confusions I had is looking for the X factor in the specification of optical zoom capability of a DSLR (lens) - which of course I didn't find. I read through various forums and posts - here is the compilation of my understanding and a (novice's) method for understanding DSLR lens specs from a compact camera user's perspective :

http://www.geekytalk.snaga.net/2011/...-sense-of.html

Please let me know what you think of this.

Re: Understanding DSLR zoom lens spec from a compact camera users perspective

Well I suppose it all makes sense; but lens sizes and the variation between different camera sensors is difficult to explain in simple terms.

For most people, it is more a case of I already have . . . but would like something bigger/wider etc.

If you are thinking about getting any lenses just ask, and give a few details of your camera and what you wish to photograph. We are all experts at spending other people's money!

Real Name
    Will

This looks like good information. I'm just getting a feel for the practical application of lens measurements.

-Sonic

Real Name
    Will

Geoff I think he was writing it for others who maby haven't found the forums.

-Sonic

Real Name
    Alan Pezzulich

Point and shoot cameras have large X factors because it is convenient. Image quality is traded off for convenience. If you never print a picture because you use your point and shoot as a convenient way to show pictures you will never notice the loss in picture quality. If you want to make an 16 X 20 inch enlargement you don't want the loss therefore DSLR owners buy zoom lenses with an X factor around 3 to get better picture quality.