Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: My first mountain shots - C&C please!

Real Name
    Rachel

My first mountain shots - C&C please!

On a recent trip to Breckenridge, I decided to take my camera on the mountain with me. I am new to snowy, mountainous landscapes and would love some help here. I really like this image of the sun setting, and have already tried messing with the curves and shadow/highlight. Is it okay that it looks a little washed out (since the sun is directly on the mountains), or are there ways around that? Thanks in advance!

Re: My first mountain shots - C&C please!

Yes it is possible to improve that photo, Rachel, but how good are your editing skills?

There are too many requirements here for one simple Curves adjustment to suitably adjust everything in one go.

Probably the simplest answer would be, once again, to work on some layers with semi transparent masking to apply different effects to different areas. I think you could probably get away with just two layers and a simple mask gradient between them.

But real experts may want to do something considerably more complicated here.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

I think the idea is great, but that big ball of blown-out sun is, I think, terribly distracting.

If you were to crop just at the bottom of that blown-out area, I think you would have yourself a very nice image in a 1:1 ratio (square). After that I wouldn't be doing a huge amount to it. It's a very good capture. Sometimes the key to good post-processing is knowing how little to do.

I think what you describe as the washed out look suits it very well. It is, after all, a late afternoon, mountain, winter scene - you get that sort of washed out light. You don't want to disguise it and create something else that wasn't there.

Maybe just a touch of Local Contrast Enhancement (but don't overdo it) to give the trees a bit of 'pop'.