Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Another "Recommend me a camera" post!

Real Name
    Sharon

Another "Recommend me a camera" post!

Hi guys, new to the site but looks like there's some awesome info here! I was hoping someone could help me out with a recommendation on what to buy. I'm totally new to DSLRs. I like to read reviews but personal recommendations mean a lot more.

Some info about me, I've had my fair share of point and shoots I've messed around with. I also have a old but still good Nikon N2000 that was a hand me down from my sister. It came with a Nikkor 50mm lens and a Promaster 24mm macro lens.

I didnt do a whole lot with the N2000 but boy does it take beautiful photos. I did take a college black and white photography course that I enjoyed a few years back with the N2000.

Now that tax refund time is coming around I find myself with some extra money to spend and I would like to pick up an entry level DSLR. Something that would be forgiving to a beginner, but that I could grow into as I learned more about the camera. My budget is around $700 or so. My brand preference is Nikon. I was kind of looking at the N3100 but havent yet really looked at any other Nikon models yet. It would be nice if I could use my old lenses but I figure that would just be a bonus if it were even possible as they are quite old!

Thanks!

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Another "Recommend me a camera" post!

$700 and Nikon ... there go my recommendations!

Anyway, welcome to CiC Sharon; it's great to have you with us

Real Name
    Sharon

Hmm, how about $700-900? There's also a local camera shop where we got materials from for the college course that sells used and refurbs that I could also consider.

Real Name
    Richard

Using older Nikon lenses of any type are somewhat chancy with Nikon equipment, especially with lower end Nikon cameras. I am not at all familiar with the Nikon N2000 so I can't give any advice regarding those specific lenses.