Thread: changing backgrounds

Real Name
    Martyn

changing backgrounds

i am not very good at changing backgrounds with PS, i tend to darken to cover up mistakes (like in this pic)
    changing backgrounds
    however this next try wasnt too bad but it looks unrealistic, maybe a shadow would improve, any ideas ? cheers martyn
    changing backgrounds

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Re: changing backgrounds

Shadows had to work only on the feet area. You wouldn't want to include any shadows on the background to make the impression that the background is really farther than the subject. I think you did good on your 2nd image. However, the blue oblong does not fade gradually to black. That gives away the impression that it was superimposed and not caused by a backlit background. To work around this situation, make a blue oblong on a separate layer. Apply about 10% of gaussian blur to it. THEN... continue repeating the application of 10% blur to this layer by pressing CTRL+F (this activates the last filter command that you applied). Continue pressing CTRL+F until such time that you would notice a very fine gradation of blur from blue to black. You would not see any banding issue since the continuous application of the blur filter is blurring it all layer by layer. Try it, you'll like it. You did lighted the ballet dancer nicely, Martyn. Nice work!

Real Name
    Martyn

thanks for that tip Jiro, with this one i used radial blur on the BG , originally the dancer was on a white BG, i used quick selection tool and put the cutout on a new layer, there is a white line around her, maybe this is due to 5 pixel feather ?cheers martyn

Real Name

Martyn, this is an example of the procedure I recommended to you.

changing backgrounds

Real Name

Quote Originally Posted by nomadr View Post