Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Photos as "Paintings"

Real Name
    Chuck Nelson

Photos as "Paintings"

Below I have posted a photograph processed to look like a painting. I recently started playing with this capability and opened up a gallery in my website dedicated to such images. (It’s at: http://www.chucknelsonphotography.com/p154840061) I find that some photographs make better “paintings” than photos. I think this is because “paintings” tend to stimulate the imagination and one can get away with more color, contrast and special effect in a “painting” without losing image credibility.
    I don’t know if there is a market for photo “paintings” but I am enjoying the freedom to go places with images that photographers haven’t traditionally gone. I know other photographers are doing this and it would be fun to see what you are doing so feel free to post here.
    Chuck

Photos as "Paintings"

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Photos as "Paintings"

Hi Chuck,

That's a very nice effect there, I really like it, the only thing that slightly troubles me is the light tone of the tree trunk, almost makes me think it's been lit by something that's the wrong colour (sorry color ) temperature.

I'll be off to look at the rest in your gallery later this evening.
    This is just the kind of thing that makes C in C such a constant delight and education to us all.

Thanks for posting this,

Real Name
    Chris

You do seem to have picked a style that is fairly appropriate for the landscapes Chuck, as you say, giving an impression of a confidently sketched modern acrylic and displaying wider range of colours and tones than one would by sticking within boundary of photography. The mono is quite good too. Don't go for the horses or waterfall close up.