Thread: Mother and Son

Mother and Son

Hello,
    Being a new member on this web site and always looking to learn in life I look for a critique on this photo of a mother and child.
    Thank you
    Ciao
    Detlev

Mother and Son

Real Name
    Sahil Jain

Re: Mother and Son

Hi Detlev,
    Welcome to CiC.
    Well Nice lighting, to begin with..
    I am not an expert to give much Critique for this pic, but only thing I feel is that the mother's eye should have been looking somewhere else. May be towards the camera or her son...
    Just my 2 cents...

Thank you Sahil. I chose this one as I thought her face is one of trust, thought, to see where this goes. Will her son pull hard or just explore the ear ring. I thought it showed her and her son as the only ones there. Here is another one where she is the only subject.

Mother and Son

Real Name
    John

That's a way to add suspense to a photo, baby fingers and pierced ears. Nice shots.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

They are nice shots; I like the exposure and composition in both.

I know what Sahil means about the mother's eyes in #1 and normally I would agree without hesitation, but to me, it sort of fits with the "am I about to get hurt?" thinking process.

In #2, while she is undoubtedly a very attractive woman with nice skin, the glancing angle of the light on the far cheek isn't possibly something to repeat, at least, not without taking steps to soften/blur things a little.

I am not sure if focus is very slightly off, or whether it is just that globally applied sharpening has enhanced the skin, lips, teeth and even clothing detail, far more than the eyes.

In summary, on #2; I'd suggest an overall a lesser amount of overall sharpening (the radius is fine) and perhaps concentrate a little more on the eyes. Also, maybe a tiny bit less saturation? (compare her skin to #1, which looks more natural)

Hope that helps,

Thank you Dave.