Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Abstract art, music and the soul. Deep sounding, n'est-ce pas?

Abstract art, music and the soul. Deep sounding, n'est-ce pas?

Just for anyone who's interested...

More and more, I cannot get away from the fact that, personally, to grow as a photographer, I need to learn more about the visual arts. I was reading here about abstract art and came across this quote by the author of the article. It really moved me and I thought that I'd throw this out there, like I said, for anyone who's interested in this sort of thing - like me.

"Visual art, as it becomes more abstract becomes more like music: an art form which uses the abstract elements of sound and divisions of time. Wassily Kandinsky, himself a musician, was inspired by the possibility of marks and associative color resounding in the soul. The idea had been put forward by Charles Baudelaire, that all our senses respond to various stimuli but the senses are connected at a deeper aesthetic level."

Real Name
    Paul

Re: Abstract art, music and the soul. Deep sounding, n'est-ce pas?

Totally agree. My wife's a fine art painter and years of being dragged (screaming) round galleries have brought an appreciation of the visual arts by some kind of osmosis. I respond totally differently to art now than I did back in the day and I believe that my work has improved immensely from this reluctant art education. I find inspiration as much from painting as I do from other photographic work and strangely enough my photographs have started to resemble my wifes paintings to some extent (subconcious inspiration) and her paintings have started to resemble some of my photographs (copying!!)
    Rembrandt's lighting, Mondrian's composition etc. all are as relevant to photography as they are to the other visual arts.

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.