Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Growth

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.

Growth

Hi guys, this is my first time to try shooting some flowers under artificial light. I still can't go out due to cold weather so I have to find a way to amuse myself inside the house. Any C&C would be most welcome!

Growth
    Growth by jiro bau, on Flickr

Thank you very much for viewing!

Nikon D70, 50mm f1.8D lens, Exposure set at f16 at 1.6 seconds. 1 single 60 watts incandescent bulb used with a light handkerchief cover to soften the shadows. RAW to Jpeg conversion and processing via ACDSEE Pro.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Growth

Willie

Is that a fabric that the flower is laying upon? One thougth is that it's a bit too indistinct, as I found myself trying to work out what it was, rather than concentrating on the image as a whole. So maybe it needs more light to make it clear what it is, or the background needs to go completely to black.

The lighting on the flower itself works very well. It is very well processed and certainly 'pops'.

Real Name
    Peter

Hello,

A lovely photograph, but I agree the background is a distraction.

I am curious. Why F16 and such a long exposure?

My Nikon 50mm F1.8 is pretty much stuck on F5.6 because the image is so good at that aperture.

Peter.

Real Name

Yup, it's fabric. Too many distracting elements on the flower pot so I decided to cover it with a tulle type of fabric. You know, still "experimenting". Hehehe. I tried it to go completely black and it looks too artificial to me. I'll just probably extract the whole flower and put it in a new background later. Thanks a lot for the feedback, Donald. I really appreciate it!

Real Name

Quote Originally Posted by MixedHerbs View Post
    Hello, A lovely photograph, but I agree the background is a distraction. I am curious. Why F16 and such a long exposure? My Nikon 50mm F1.8 is pretty much stuck on F5.6 because the image is so good at that aperture.

Peter.