Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The Violin Player-What is the best crop?

Real Name
    Ali

The Violin Player-What is the best crop?

For some reason, I don't like this picture, I am not sure what I am doing wrong in PP. But aside from that, I would like to know what your suggestion is for cropping this shot. The first one is the original and rest are my quick crops.

Thanks!

Original:

Real Name
    Chris

Re: The Violin Player-What is the best crop?

Forgive the craziness of this image response, but when I started playing with each of your crops, I couldn't find a point which really satisfied my sense of a balanced look. I cropped slightly more to the left, but less tightly...and still wasn't overly satisfied, so I did a line analysis and I think when you look at the image, you will see these converging lines are pretty much universal in all three images.
    What happens is that the center of focus is too far right and too close to the center of the image. Try reshooting it with less dead space on the left, more image to the right which will allow his eyes to direct your eye to the bow, strings and chin position. I'd also tend to shoot with the central focal point either a bit higher or a bit lower than dead center.

Real Name
    Ali

Thanks, Chris! Nice analysis. It would be easy to reshoot this but it is too late now. I have to wait until next year for the background.

I agree the problem with the shot is that he was moving and I would not get the focus right and in this one, which is better than rest, I lost a lot on the right side and have a lot of space on the left which is useless.

And since the focus is not right, I can't make it a tight crop close up of the face.

Just wanted to see what you guys think.

Thanks again!

Real Name
    Willie or Jiro is fine by me.