Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: How to get a retro tone

How to get a retro tone

Hi,

I am relatively new to photography and would soon be getting my hands on a friends Nikon D40. I have been shooting with my regular point and shoot till now. However, I am generally quite interested in a particular tone of the image rather than the regular bright colored or natural looking snaps (with no offence meant to anyone ). I was wondering how is it possible to get this specific greenish/slightly saturated tone in images. I do play around with the Hue/Saturation option in Phosotshop but still it is not as striking as we see in some snaps. I guess it also has to do with my point and shoot not producing great snaps and to a certain extent I guess, being new to this, my own mistakes.

Examples of images and the tone I am talking about are many. But one of them are here,

http://flickr.com/photos/meredithfarmer/3120918501/

http://flickr.com/photos/meredithfar...7607741759878/

I heard this is achieved using polarizers and setting saturation etc. I was wondering if anyone has knowledge on how this kind of images are achieved.

Thanks,
    Sun

Re: How to get a retro tone

Might not be the answer you are looking for but hue/sat in ps is too dramatic to get that effect in the pics you linked. Well if you make major change it is, and too minor isn't that noticable. There might be better way to get that look in camera but I guess lenses or filters is not ideal if you are just using your friends (unless you're buying or keeping it sorry if I misread).

You can get that look in PS with any photo if you

1. Add an adjustment layer > photo filter. Keep it subtle level of % and possibly add more adjustment layers of another colour.

2. Adjust curves but for R G B independantly (eg. higher greens and drop reds etc)

3. Depending on version os PS you can change hue/sat and fade it or alternately duplicate the layer and change it and change the opacity or layer style.